Loading Events
This event has passed.

Remembering John F. Kennedy: Sc. 1246 5¢ Commemorative is a FREE online event via Zoom, Sponsored by American First Day Cover Society!

John F. Kennedy first day cover expert Henry Scheuer will talk about his quest to obtain as many postmarks for the first JFK stamp as possible, in an American First Day Cover Society online seminar November 14, 2021, at 8:00 PM Eastern Standard Time (7PM CST, 6PM MST, 5PM PST) on Zoom.

The John F. Kennedy memorial stamp of 1964 (Sc. 1246) was one of the most popular U.S. stamps of its era. It went on sale at nearly every post office, and many collectors had the stamp postmarked locally on the day of issue. Scheuer, a financial services professional, has FDCs from the thousands of post offices then in operation, and hopes to add more. His collection includes not only U.S. postmarks, but also covers serviced overseas and sent to overseas addresses.

WHAT IS A FIRST DAY COVER?

A First Day Cover (FDC) is an envelope or card bearing a stamp which is cancelled on the day the stamp is initially placed on sale by the postal authorities.

ATTEND VIA ZOOM:

The Zoom address for “Remembering John F. Kennedy: Sc. 1246 5¢ Commemorative” is https://us06web.zoom.us/j/88992496356?pwd=S1J1NXhLN1J6elFzSE5ZU2U5bG1Qdz09 or the meeting ID 889 9249 6356 with a passcode of 598920. The program will be recorded and available for viewing at a later date.

This event is sponsored by the American First Day Cover Society (AFDCS), a non-profit organization devoted to the advancement and collecting of first day covers. 

Membership in the AFDCS is not required to attend the seminar.

American First Day Cover Society
PO Box 246
Colonial Beach, VA 22443-0246
(540) 940-1629
Central Office email: AFDCS@afdcs.org

Choose Your Platform and Share This!

Title

Go to Top